The Value of Children’s Books

By Emy Louie. Edited by MM.

It has been said that everything you ever learned, you learned in kindergarten.  I am reminded of this all the time when I read children’s books.

Why I read children’s books:

Children’s books are short — especially the books for pre-schoolers.  I love short books because I can read them in five to ten minutes.  Even for non-children books, when I see an article or a book, I tend to look at the shorter article or book first!  Let’s see…I have a choice…read a 200 page book or a 1000 page book?  I pick up the 200 page book first.

Children’s books teach usually just one lesson, and I can retain the lesson because there is just one lesson and the lesson is a simple one, such as team-work, visiting a friend, finding a hobby.

Sure, children’s books present simple and basic lessons, but we all forget basic lessons once in a while or we forget basic lessons often!   I am surprised when I read a children’s book at night and that lesson applies directly to my work during the day!

So enjoy a children’s book today and enjoy it often!

And a child is not needed to read a children’s book

This entry was posted in Health, Fitness & Recreation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment